Getting started before "Getting started"

I’m quite new to Netduino. I come from the GCC world, so it has been more C/C++, CodeBlocks and GCC for me than Visual Studio and C#.
I tried to follow the link on this page.

But it seems to expect that I already have Visual Studio. Never was that mentioned. On the next page following the link were things to get installed. The second line had a link, “Visual Studio 2015”. But it was only for NETMF Plugin for Visual Studio, whatever that is. I don’t know, because I’m only getting started. So I abort the download by clicking a link ‘back to download page’. Now I seem to get to a page that does indeed have a link to Visual Studio download from Microsoft. This downlad page looks much more appropriate for getting started than the actual getting started page.
Too bad Microsoft messes it up for a newbie this time. The link promises VS 2015, but the Microsoft page starts to bbrag about VS 2017 instead and does a good job confusing me and hiding the free version of VS 2015. I thought I found it finally and downloaded an installing file. After having installed it - I had to have an admin guy in our community to run the installing with his admin rights - and testing the program after returning home, I found out that I had VS 2017 installed. So I got fooled by Microsoft to download the newest version!
Wilderness can’t do anything to Microsoft’s confusing pages, but you could have a proper link to the right page to Microsoft’s site, from where VS 2015 is downloaded. And installing VS 2015 could be mentioned as one step on the Getting started page.
I am still a bit confused and I’m afraid I haven’t been able to describe my struggling clearly. But my impression of the Getting started page is that it’s writtenfor someone who knows exactlywhat each step is for, what each downloadedfile actually is. Not for a newbie, who might know C/C++, Arduino and whatnot, but not .NET, MSVS, C# etc.