Windows Meadow F7 COM Port Connection Failure

I’m just getting started with the F7 on Windows and I’m attempting to:

meadow flash os

I understand the default COM port is “4” and can confirm this is set in clisettings.json.

When flashing the OS I get an error message “Failed to connect to Meadow on COM3”.

I’ve also tried specifying the serial port directly via:

meadow flash os -s 4

…but it still appears to connect on COM3 and fails.

Could this be an issue with the CLI or am I missing something obvious?

Try using meadow flash os -s com4

After cloning the Meadow.CLI git repo and debugging locally I found that the CLI fetches a list of COM ports from my machine, iterates them, and attempts to connect to each in the order they are received. It starts with COM3, the first in that list, and attempts to connect despite the fact that I specify COM4 as the serial port to use.

In my case the connection to COM3 exceeds 60 seconds and the CLI throws an exception.

It’s unclear if this is a bug in the CLI or an issue with my machine.

I will continue to investigate and will submit an issue in GitHub if appropriate.

For the benefit of others I’ll update this topic when I know more. Thanks @wlathbury

1 Like

I am keeping an eye on this as it may be related to my issue at Meadow OS Flash Failure - #3 by treygourley

As of right now I am getting errors like:

Connecting to Meadow on COM3
An error occurred while attempting to create Meadow
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not find file 'COM3'.
File name: 'COM3'
   at System.IO.Ports.SerialStream..

The only difference for me is that my Meadow is on COM3.

Wow, You are willing to put a lot more effort into this than I am. I am seeing the same behavior, I am able to flash the OS on COM4, and then times out after a minute when it tries to connect to COM3.